top of page
087_edited.jpg

EVERY YEAR...

 

24 November 2017 - 7 January 2018

Every year, the Advent and Christmas season invites us to look attentively at the Christmas story and the festivities during this time. Paintings and sculptures bring these events closer to visitors as part of a special exhibition.

Stoeckl.1800x900.jpg

UNIQUE. SCULPTURES BY MARGOT STOECKL

 

12 August 2017 - 31 October 2017

 

In her sculptural work, Margot Stoeckl has placed a conspicuous amount of attention on, as she herself puts it, "head work". In the diversity and variety of her types, she demonstrates great talent and flair for approaching expressive positions. In her motivically divergent reproaches, she combines technical precision (mostly metal casting in bronze and aluminium) with seriousness, fantasy and also with wit.

Margot Stoeckl lives and works in the Zillertal. She attended the "Höhere Technische Lehranstalt für Kunsthandwerk und Holzverarbeitung" in Innsbruck. After working in the hospitality industry for several years, she now devotes herself entirely to her art.

Riemenschneideraltar-1024x833.jpg

RENAISSANCE IN THE MOUNTAINS. 

THE PAINTER BARTLME DILL RIEMENSCHNEIDER AND HIS TIME

 

27 May 2017 - 31 October 2017 

In the first half of the 16th century, Renaissance forms and themes found their way into South Tyrol via the southern German art centres.

The Reformation of Martin Luther was reflected in sacred panel painting, as was the relationship between Christians and Muslims. As the setting for the 'invention' of the tiled stove painted in blue and white faience, the so-called 'Land im Gebirge' emerged as a region of German-Italian art exchange.

Kaselkreuz mit Maria und Heiligen - Kopi

VELVET AND SILK IN HISTORIC TYROL

 

2 May 2017 - 29 October 2017

The cathedral treasury of Bressanone houses an extraordinarily rich collection of historical textiles and High Medieval ceremonial vestments. The so-called eagle chasuble of St. Albuin from around 1000 with its imperial Byzantine silk fabric is one of the most valuable medieval textiles in Europe.

The vestments of the blessed Bishop Hartmann from the 12th century are also of special significance. After a very costly restoration, the so-called Vigilius chasuble (around 1100) is on display for the first time. A pluvial (around 1470) from Bressanone Cathedral is also on display at the Hofburg on the occasion of the exhibition.

 

The exhibition is a project of the European Textile Academy and extends over several exhibition venues in Tyrol, South Tyrol and Trentino. Further information can be found here: www.velvetandsilk.eu

HofburgBrixen_Schalhaas_Totentanz.2_bear

BRIGITTE SCHALHAAS. DANCE OF DEATH

 

8 April 2017 - 7 May 2017 

The theme of the dance of death has been part of Western culture since the Middle Ages. It is based on the "memento mori", the thought of death, which awaits us all without distinction of rank or age. We have only one certainty in life, that of death, and no one knows when we will die.

 

The Austrian artist Brigitte Schalhaas (* 1947), who lives in Innsbruck, has created an extensive dance of death cycle in large-format drawings of great emotional and suggestive power via relevant medieval texts, via music and not least via her own life experience.

bottom of page

087_edited.jpg

ALLE JAHRE WIEDER...

 

24. November 2017 – 7. Januar 2018

Alle Jahre wieder lädt uns die Advents- und Weihnachtszeit zum aufmerksamen Betrachten der Weihnachtsgeschichte und der Feste in dieser Zeit ein. Gemälde und Skulpturen bringen diese Ereignisse im Rahmen einer Sonderausstellung den Besuchern nahe.

Stoeckl.1800x900.jpg

EINZIGARTIG. SKULPTUREN VON MARGOT STÖCKL

 

12. August 2017 - 31. Oktober 2017

Margot Stöckl hat in ihrem skulpturalen Schaffen auffallend viel Aufmerksamkeit auf, wie sie es selbst formuliert, „Kopfarbeit“ gelegt. In der Unterschiedlichkeit und Vielfalt ihrer Typen beweist sie viel Talent und Gespür, sich ausdrucksstarken Positionen zu nähern. Sie verbindet in ihren motivisch divergierenden Vorwürfen technische Präzision (meist Metallguss in Bronze und Aluminium) mit Ernst, Fantasie und auch mit Witz.

Margot Stöckl lebt und arbeitet im Zillertal. Sie besuchte die Höhere Technische Lehranstalt für Kunsthandwerk und Holzverarbeitung in Innsbruck. Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit im Gastgewerbe widmet sie sich heute völlig ihrer Kunst.

Riemenschneideraltar-1024x833.jpg

RENAISSANCE IM GEBIRGE.

DER MALER BARTLME DILL RIEMENSCHNEIDER UND SEINE ZEIT 

 

27. Mai 2017 - 31. Oktober 2017

Über den Umweg der süddeutschen Kunstzentren hielten auch in Südtirol in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts Formen und Themen der Renaissance Einzug. In der sakralen Tafelmalerei fand die Reformation Martin Luthers ebenso ihren Niederschlag wie das Verhältnis zwischen Christen und Muslimen. Als Schauplatz der ,Erfindung‘ des in blau-weißer Fayencetechnik bemalten Kachelofens trat das ,Land im Gebirge‘ als Region des deutsch-italienischen Kunstaustauschs in Erscheinung.

Kaselkreuz mit Maria und Heiligen - Kopi

SAMT UND SEIDE IM HISTORISCHEN TIROL

 

2. Mai 2017 – 29. Oktober 2017

Im Domschatz von Brixen befindet sich eine außergewöhnlich reiche Sammlung historischer Textilien und hochmittelalterlicher Prunkgewänder. Die Adlerkasel des Hl. Albuin aus der Zeit um 1000 zählt mit ihrem kaiserlichen byzantinischen Seidenstoff zu den wertvollsten mittelalterlichen Textilien in Europa.

 

Auch die Gewänder des seligen Bischofs Hartmann aus dem 12. Jahrhundert sind von besonderer Bedeutung. Nach einer sehr aufwendigen Restaurierung wird die so genannte Vigiliuskasel (um 1100) erstmals gezeigt. Auch ein Pluviale (um 1470) aus dem Dom von Brixen ist anlässlich der Ausstellung in der Hofburg zu sehen.

Die Ausstellung ist ein Projekt der Europäischen Textilakademie und erstreckt sich über mehrere Ausstellungsorte in Tirol, Südtirol und im Trentino. Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie hier: www.velvetandsilk.eu

HofburgBrixen_Schalhaas_Totentanz.2_bear

BRIGITTE SCHALHAAS. TOTENTANZ

 

8. April 2017 – 7. Mai 2017

Das Thema des Totentanzes gehört seit dem Mittelalter zur abendländischen Kultur. Dahinter steht das „memento mori“, der Gedanke an den Tod, der uns alle ohne Unterschied von Rang und Alter erwartet. Wir haben nur die eine Sicherheit im Leben, die des Todes, und niemand kennt die Stunde.

Die österreichische, in Innsbruck lebende Künstlerin Brigitte Schalhaas (*1947) hat über einschlägige mittelalterliche Texte, über die Musik und nicht zuletzt über ihre eigene Lebenserfahrung einen umfangreichen Totentanz-Zyklus in großformatigen Zeichnungen von großer emotionaler und suggestiver Kraft geschaffen.