top of page
KöniginJohanna.1800x900.jpg

BAROQUE DRAWINGS

6 June 2015 - 27 September 2015

 

The exhibition shows around eighty Baroque drawings from the Hofburg Bressanone collection and includes works by great Baroque artists such as Paul Troger, Matthäus Günther, Melchior Steidl and Josef Schöpf. The majority of the drawings are on public display for the first time. A catalogue of all the Baroque drawings in the Hofburg will be published to accompany the exhibition.

Kirchmayr.1800x900.jpg

TONI KIRCHMAYR AND THE FIRST WORLD WAR

5 May 2015 - 31 October 2015

 

The exhibition in the medieval cellar vault shows works by the artist Toni Kirchmayr (1887-1965) from the collections of the Diocesan Museum.

Toni Kirchmayr, born in Schwaz, lived and worked in Innsbruck. He took part in the First World War as a one-year voluntary "Unterjäger" In 1917/18, still during the war, he created a monumental triptych (2 x 5 m) for the planned but unrealised imperial chapel in Lavarone. The impressive work was in much-acclaimed exhibitions in Salzburg and Vienna in 1920 and was subsequently donated to the Diocesan Museum by the artist himself.

 

After the war Kirchmayr painted a number of war memorials, including one for the church of St. Leonhard near Brixen. The signed and 1920-dated preliminary drawing (210 x 255 mm) faithfully reproduces both the locality and certain persons of St. Leonhard. 

In addition, two field altars with all the utensils required for celebrating mass in the field are on display in the exhibition.

bottom of page

KöniginJohanna.1800x900.jpg

BAROCKE ZEICHNUNGEN

 

6. Juni 2015 - 27. September 2015

 

Die Ausstellung zeigt rund achtzig barocke Zeichnungen aus der Sammlung der Hofburg Brixen und umfasst Werke großer Barockkünstler wie Paul Troger, Matthäus Günther, Melchior Steidl und Josef Schöpf. Der Großteil der Zeichnungen ist zum ersten Mal öffentlich ausgestellt. Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Bestandskatalog aller barocken Zeichnungen der Hofburg.

Kirchmayr.1800x900.jpg

TONI KIRCHMAYR UND DER ERSTE WELTKRIEG

5. Mai 2015 - 31. Oktober 2015

Die Ausstellung im mittelalterlichen Kellergewölbe zeigt Werke des Künstlers Toni Kirchmayr (1887–1965) aus den Beständen des Diözesanmuseums.

Toni Kirchmayr, geboren in Schwaz, lebte und arbeitete in Innsbruck. Als einjährig freiwilliger Unterjäger nahm er am Ersten Weltkrieg teil. 1917/18, noch während des Krieges, schuf er ein monumentales Triptychon (2 x 5 m) für die geplante, aber nicht realisierte Kaiserkapelle in Lavarone. Das beeindruckende Werk befand sich 1920 in vielbeachteten Ausstellungen in Salzburg und Wien und wurde anschließend vom Künstler selbst dem Diözesanmuseum geschenkt.

Nach dem Krieg malte Kirchmayr eine Reihe von Kriegerdenkmälern, so auch für die Kirche von St. Leonhard bei Brixen. Die signierte und 1920 datierte Vorzeichnung (210 x 255 mm) gibt sowohl die Ortschaft als auch bestimmte Personen von St. Leonhard porträtgetreu wieder. 

Zudem sind zwei Feldaltäre mit allen für die Messfeier im Feld erforderlichen Utensilien in der Ausstellung zu sehen.